Friday, June 11, 2010

Summer School...

Unfortunately I was not accepted into LLU for the fall quarter. It is the most competitive quarter out of all the application periods - not to mention the most competitive for fall they have ever seen, and my chances increase for January, so I will keep on trying! To increase my gpa, and my chances of getting in, I am going to re-take the 2nd half of Anatomy and Physiology at LLU this summer. Its a 6 week course...when I took it before it was 16 weeks long. So, this shall be interesting to say the least. I'm kind of excited though, I loved A&P, and at LLU they have a cadaver lab, which will be really interesting to learn on. At RCC we had to use cats. :( So, pray for me that I get through those 6 weeks successfully and calmly. In the meantime, I'm going to enjoy the next week that I have without school or studying until my class starts. :)

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

LLU Letter...Pending

I called the school of nursing this morning to see when they sent the letters out. They sent mine (specifically) out either Thursday or Friday of last week she said. It was dated June 2. She said it should be in the mail today, and worst case scenario, be in the mail tomorrow. I'm at work right now, and I have to go straight to my chemistry final at 2pm when I get off. My stomach literally turns and hurts when I think about getting that letter, I dont know how I am going to sit through my final. The letter will go to Brian's house because his address is on everything (to hopefully qualify for work study later...). So as soon as I am done with school I'm driving out there to check the mail. My heart is literally racing. I know this is silly, and whatever is meant to happen happens....but that is SO much easier said than felt. Sigh. Keep fingers crossed and say your prayers...this is important to me.

Stay tuned...

xoxo,
lesley

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Early Morning Ramble

Yawwwwwn. Been up since 3:45am. Only have a few hours of sleep under my belt. I definitely see a nap in the near future after work. I'm working at the front service desk here at work and it could not be more boring, hence why I am typing this away right now. I've had my cup of coffee, so I'm feeling a little more awake, but I'm pretty dang sore from my training session I had yesterday afternoon. It was seriously the hardest work out I have ever experienced,harder than any P90X workout I've done, and it was so good and refreshing. Having a personal trainer really does help push you to do your best. I plan on meeting with him a few more times to get a good regimen that I can eventually do on my own to meet my goals.

In my opinion, Thursday could be considered the end of the week, right? Well, as I mentioned in a previous post, LLU Nursing is sending out the letters of acceptance/denial/wait list at "the end of this week". My stomach literally turns when I think about it. Its like that nervous feeling you felt in high school when you had a crush on a boy and you wanted to call him, yet this feeling isn't quite as exciting. Haha. Just cross your fingers and pray, I'm trying not to want it too badly.

Pretty stoked that my semester is over on June 8, man time really flew by. I have lots of final exam preparation to do this weekend, but then its all over until June 22 when I start summer school. Hooray. Thankfully it is just an online course, and the teacher is who instructs it is supposed to be really good. *crosses fingers*. Luckily regardless of what happens for me in the fall, this is my last semester as an RCC student, (5 years later - what an accomplishment...sigh) and I am graduating with my associates degree. Score. I wonder if I will even know what to do with myself down the road when I'm done with school forever...that will be...awkward.

Jennifer's (Brian's sister, and a great friend of mine) wedding is next month! I'm so excited! I cant wait to do the pre-wedding events such as the bridal shower and our bachelorette weekend! We are going to have so much fun, and I'm so happy for her. :)

The new iphone is supposed to come out this month. I'm curious to see what it will be like. Brian and I plan on selling ours on ebay and purchasing the new ones. He's done it every time a new one comes out and makes a PROFIT by doing so. He bought the new 3GS last year for $200.00 and sold his previous one online for $450.00. Amazing, and that is our goal this time around :)

I think that should be all for now. I'm not sure if anyone even actually reads this. But hey, at least I kept myself occupied for a bit while I'm at work on this slow morning.

xoxo,
lesley

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

2nd within an hour. oops?

I LOVE THESE FLATS!



I love flats. Probably because I'm a fairly tall person, and they are usually more comfortable than heels. (Dont get me wrong, I definitely feel sexy in a good pair of heels once in a while). I have a weakness for adorable flats. These are beautiful. I found them on tumblr. I would love to wear these or something similar when I get married someday. Yes, I'm wearing flats when I get married. I don't want to tower over Brian slash be uncomfortable all night in high heels ;-)

Fresh Start?

Blogging is just so much more fun that writing a paper for school, wouldn't you agree? I made this new blog because I could not get over how ridiculous the name of my other one is. Kind of a ridiculous reason to start a whole new blog, I know...but it was just one of those things in the furthest corner of my brain that annoyed me a little whenever I logged in. Haha. I love tulips, don't get me wrong, they are my favorite flower hands down...but I'm not very fancy, and pink? I mean, its a gorgeous color but if you know me well you know I am definitely NOT a pink person. What was I thinking? lesley.living.life just seemed much more appropriate under blogging standards :)

Now, as I said in my previous blog, I am blogging simply for the joy of documenting my life. People say its healthy to journal, and I love to look back on blogs (like xanga!) and reminisce sometimes.

I found out today that LLU School of Nursing will be sending out the acceptance/denial/waitlist letters at the "end of this week". Thursday is considered the end of the week, right? I cannot take the anxiety anymore! Haha! I've been trying to get into a nursing school for centuries it feels like, and I feel like my chances are right down the middle. I dont want to be optimistic and get my hopes up at all. I just need to remember that everything happens for a reason, and it is all in God's timing...so much easier to say than comprehend sometimes. Sigh.

I just downloaded this amazing new app on my iPhone called Shake It Photo...It takes a photo you capture or a photo you already have in the library and when you shake the phone its like shaking a polaroid picture and "develops" into this edited, very subtle, vintage feel of a picture. I LOVE it. Here is an example:


This picture was from 2007...try not to judge too much ;-) But its a really cool app.

I think that is all for now. I have barely touched my paper. Oops. I did however manage to watch Catch and Release earlier this evening with Jennifer Garner in it...such a good movie. Now I must get ready for bed because I have work tomorrow morning. Xoxo.